Don Towsley
College of Information & Computer Sciences
University of Massachusetts
Amherst MA 01003 USA
towsley at cs dot umass dot edu
phone: 413-545-0207
FAX: 413-545-1249

Don Towsley received a B.A. degree in physics and a Ph.D. degree in computer science, both from University of Texas. He is currently a Distinguished University Professor in the Department of Computer Science at the University of Massachusetts - Amherst. Prof. Towsley has been a Visiting Scientist at AT&T Labs - Research, IBM Research, INRIA , Microsoft Research Cambridge, and the University of Paris 6.

Prof. Towsley's research interests include wireless security, network science, and network measurement, modeling, analysis. He was a Co-founder and Co-Editor-in-Chief of ACM Transactions on Modeling and Performance Evaaluation of Computing Systems (TOMPECS) and Editor-in-Chief of IEEE/ACM Transactions on Networking. He has also served on the editorial boards of Journal of the ACM, IEEE Journalof Selected Areas in Communications, IEEE Transactions on Communications, Performance Evaluation, and Networks. He has served as a Co-Program Chair of the jpoint 1992 ACM SIGMETRICS and Performance conference, Performance'02, and IEEE INFOCOM 2009 as well as a Co-General Chair of COMSNETS 2012. He has been active on the program committees of numerous conferences including IEEE Infocom, ACM SIGCOMM, ACM SIGMETRICS, and IFIP Performance conferences He has also served as Chair of the IFIP Working Group 7.3 on computer performance measurement, modeling, and analysis, and as an officer or advisor of ACM SIGMETRICS and ACM SIGCOMM. He is one of the founders of the Computer Performance Foundation.

Prof. Towsley has received the 2007 IEEE Koji Kobayashi Computer and Communications Award , the 2007 ACM SIGMETRICS Achievement Award, the 2008 ACM SIGCOMM Award, and the 2011 INFOCOM Achievement Award. In addition, he has received numerous paper awards including the 1999 IEEE Communications Society William Bennett Award, the 2008 ACM SIGCOMM Test of Time Paper Award, the 2012 ACM SIGMETRICS Test of Time Award, a 2018 ACM MOBICOM Test of Time Award, and several conference and workshop best paper awards including five ACM SIGMETRICS Awards. He is also the recipient of the UMass Award for Outstanding Accomplishments in Research and Creative Activity, the University of Massachusetts Chancellor's Medal, the UMass Amherst Distinguished Graduate Mentor Award, and an Outstanding Research Award from the College of Natural Science and Mathematics at the University of Massachusetts. He has twice received IBM Faculty Fellowship Awards, and is a Fellow of the IEEE and the ACM. Last, he was elected a corresponding member of the Brazilian Academy of Sciences.